Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated.

Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Club and Speciality Forums > Ford Car Clubs > Ford Coupe Club of Australia > Technical Area

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15-01-2020, 08:38 PM   #1
Nicholas53
Starter Motor
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 4
Default ICC not working

Hi I'm new to this forum I have a BF xr6 mk2. The radio doesn't come on the, controls for the vents, and the aircon controls aren't working either the hole unit is dead. Can anyone tell me what could be the possible cause.
Nicholas53 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-01-2020, 09:59 PM   #2
CitroŽnbender
DIY tragic
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Sydney, more than not. I hate it.
Posts: 8,122
Default Re: ICC not working

If you slightly turn the key switch, do they come on?
CitroŽnbender is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-01-2020, 08:21 AM   #3
11ford11
FF.Com.Au Hardcore
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NSW
Posts: 1,348
Default Re: ICC not working

Check fuses with a test light
Was it working previously
Have you had ICC out
Check accessory relay in interior fuse box
Does radio work but no display if so push and hold main power button for 5-10 seconds
Try disconnecting main plug into front of interior fuse box and reconnecting
Try removing icc reset plug at rear by pulling it towards you slightly and refitting
Does everything else work ie. wipers flashers etc.
Do reverse lights work
11ford11 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-01-2020, 08:23 PM   #4
Nicholas53
Starter Motor
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 4
Default Re: ICC not working

The wipers and flashers do work. The reverse lights don't work but they havent worked since I had the car. There is a problem with the TCM but the radio was working then. Will check the accessory relay. Fuses are all ok.
Nicholas53 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-01-2020, 02:17 PM   #5
11ford11
FF.Com.Au Hardcore
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NSW
Posts: 1,348
Default Re: ICC not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicholas53 View Post
The wipers and flashers do work. The reverse lights don't work but they havent worked since I had the car. There is a problem with the TCM but the radio was working then. Will check the accessory relay. Fuses are all ok.
Double check reverse fuse with a test light
11ford11 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-01-2020, 09:43 AM   #6
Gothefalcon
FAWD - No Boundaries
Donating Member3
 
Gothefalcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 7,147
Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: He takes long trips in his AWD Falcon & where ever he goes he sets out to meet forum members at various destinations. He does this without expectation of any sort. I have had the pleasure of spending time with Dhru on two of his separate trips and his gre Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: The excellent write ups in your BF AWD Falcon Wagon thread 
Default Re: ICC not working

Could be the motherboard in the back of the ICC (The central dash unit with the radio, A/C buttons, screen, etc). The solder joints on the board start to seperate/dislodge/corrode /whatever the technical term is ... and things stop working.

I've replaced a few ICC's over the years (in different cars) when this has started happening... but late last year we decided to have a go at fixing one instead.

I took the ICC out, and pulled the motherboard out of the big rectangular metal box at the back of it (not the CD player... but the one with the big main plug on it)... then I gave it to my mate James who's good with electronic boards... and he touch soldered all the solder joints on the board... then I re-installed it and put the ICC bac together.

That was around Sept last year and everything is still working reliably

Before you try this yourself, just note that the car won't start once the ICC has been removed ( I've got other cars, so didn't matter for me). I've also got a couple of spare ICC's (kept some previous stuffed ones) so I had back up.

If you choose to fit another ICC, you'll probably need to get it security coded to the car (though, sometimes you can be lucky it just works). Car will start but the rest won't work until it's coded.

Good luck sorting your issue

D
__________________
View My Build thread

07 BF2 AWD Falcon Wagon (Daily driver)
03 BA Falcon Wagon (Spare)
98 NL Fairlane Ghia V8 (Weekend cruiser)
92 EB Fairmont Wagon (Was dead, but resurrected)
70 VG paddock racer (Cain it til it breaks.. fix it.. Cain it all over again !)
Gothefalcon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
This user likes this post:
Old 18-01-2020, 09:10 PM   #7
Nicholas53
Starter Motor
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 4
Default Re: ICC not working

Thanks for pointing me the right direction will try that I have a spare unit at home. also have another vehicle so I can give it a go will let you know how it turns out.
Nicholas53 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
This user likes this post:
Old 19-01-2020, 09:00 AM   #8
11ford11
FF.Com.Au Hardcore
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NSW
Posts: 1,348
Default Re: ICC not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicholas53 View Post
Thanks for pointing me the right direction will try that I have a spare unit at home. also have another vehicle so I can give it a go will let you know how it turns out.
Replace icc and push am and menu buttons at same time will allow you to test for about 5 minutes until programming is done with a scan tool remember to reset plug at rear by pulling towards you slightly
change the bem at bottom of original icc into new icc if you want it to start
11ford11 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
This user likes this post:
Old 25-01-2020, 03:30 PM   #9
Nicholas53
Starter Motor
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 4
Default Re: ICC not working

I replaced the main board as you suggested and it all works fine now. Thanks for the tip really pleased with the result.
Nicholas53 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
This user likes this post:
Old Yesterday, 12:12 AM   #10
road rash
Starter Motor
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: NSW
Posts: 5
Default Ford Falcon BA shorting out the ICC. Urgent help needed

Hi everyone, I have been installing/programming ICCs in falcons BA BF and FG series and Territory SX SY series.

Recently encountered a weird problem.

A guy came for dead ICC replacement for his BA XT falcon.

I installed another unit which didn't work either. I decided to install a tested working unit from my own territory to make sure that the unit being installed is fully working.

Event that unit didn't work.

At this point the owner of the car disclosed that he had bought another working ICC and tried to install but didn't work. So, he installed it back in the original car from which it came but unit was dead or in simple words unit was killed by his BA Falcon.

I was sure that his car has burnt 2 of my ICCs also.

To verify that I installed my previously working unit back into my territory and it was dead as expected. No display, now switches working.

I was left with 2 of my units rendered useless by his BA along with 2 hours of time.

Story didn't end here. Now I've tried another tested working unit in my territory but still the no display and none of the switches working.

I suspect that the BA Falcon may have a faulty BCM which is causing some voltage surge killing the ICCs.

But have no clue about my own Territory as even another tested working ICC is not working in it.

Before I start to replace and program the BCM in my territory I would appreciate the inputs from experts.

I have a few spare BCMs and ICCs, professional scan tool and tools for repairing motherboard if needed.

Thanks in advance.
road rash is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
This user likes this post:
Old Yesterday, 10:33 AM   #11
11ford11
FF.Com.Au Hardcore
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NSW
Posts: 1,348
Default Re: Ford Falcon BA shorting out the ICC. Urgent help needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by road rash View Post
Hi everyone, I have been installing/programming ICCs in falcons BA BF and FG series and Territory SX SY series.

Recently encountered a weird problem.

A guy came for dead ICC replacement for his BA XT falcon.

I installed another unit which didn't work either. I decided to install a tested working unit from my own territory to make sure that the unit being installed is fully working.

Event that unit didn't work.

At this point the owner of the car disclosed that he had bought another working ICC and tried to install but didn't work. So, he installed it back in the original car from which it came but unit was dead or in simple words unit was killed by his BA Falcon.

I was sure that his car has burnt 2 of my ICCs also.

To verify that I installed my previously working unit back into my territory and it was dead as expected. No display, now switches working.

I was left with 2 of my units rendered useless by his BA along with 2 hours of time.

Story didn't end here. Now I've tried another tested working unit in my territory but still the no display and none of the switches working.

I suspect that the BA Falcon may have a faulty BCM which is causing some voltage surge killing the ICCs.

But have no clue about my own Territory as even another tested working ICC is not working in it.

Before I start to replace and program the BCM in my territory I would appreciate the inputs from experts.

I have a few spare BCMs and ICCs, professional scan tool and tools for repairing motherboard if needed.

Thanks in advance.
Check reverse lights work
Check pins on rear of icc havenít bent over
11ford11 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old Yesterday, 12:32 PM   #12
road rash
Starter Motor
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: NSW
Posts: 5
Default Re: Ford Falcon BA shorting out the ICC. Urgent help needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by 11ford11 View Post
Check reverse lights work
Check pins on rear of icc havenít bent over
Thanks mate. No bent pins and reverse lights working.

Car starts fine, centre locking works, interior lights do come on and off. But none of the switches on ICC itself is working.
road rash is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old Yesterday, 07:40 PM   #13
foxtrot3
FF.Com.Au Hardcore
 
foxtrot3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,528
Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Technical articles. 
Default Re: ICC not working

Hi. Pull the ICC out and see if any of the terminals in the plug on the dash have been pushed out of the back of the plug by a bent pin on the first faulty ICC. Main pins to check are the B+ on the bottom edge far right and the acc and ign feeds on the top row near the centre of the centre section of the plug and the ground wire above the B+ power wire on the right hand edge. The main thing I would be looking at is the B+ feed as radio should work in key-less mode without acc or ign and it should earth through the side brackets upper bolts and the antenna module if the earth pin is gone. If all the terminals are in place the next thing is to see if there is power on the B+ terminal. Good luck. MD
__________________


HI

I'M MICHAEL

2003 ACID RUSH BA FUTURA WAGON

light up window switches | auto on cruise control | doubleclick window lift from remote
foxtrot3 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Other than what is legally copyrighted by the respective owners, this site is copyright www.fordforums.com.au
Positive SSL