Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > General Topics > The Pub

The Pub For General Automotive Related Talk

Old 06-05-2012, 05:14 PM   #1
maddo1
Starter Motor

Default synthetic oils

Is there really any advantage to running synthetic oil in my fg engine over mineral oils.. I am a mechanic but still confused!!

maddo1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-05-2012, 06:08 PM   #2
IceValk85
MY2010 SV6 SIDI -Black-

Default Re: synthetic oils

synthetic oils are more resistant to heat and breaking down of the base components, offering better protection to modern engines.

Im NOT a mechanic and wouldn't have anything OTHER than full synth in any of my engines.

been a fan of Nulon 10-30 and 5-30 full synth for years.

Ice
IceValk85 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
This user likes this post:
Old 06-05-2012, 06:26 PM   #3
Rodge
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by maddo1
Is there really any advantage to running synthetic oil in my fg engine over mineral oils.. I am a mechanic but still confused!!
Great and timely thread as far as I'm concerned.
Synthetic Oil manufacturers are certainly not shy of making claims for their full synthetic formulations but I note that:

1. There are 3 formulations of oil that Castrol make that meet the 5W-20 spec for the new 5.0 Supercharged motor. Two full synthetic and 1 semi synthetic. FPV chose the semi synthetic formulation.

2. Mercedes-benz have partnered up with Mobil 1 for years and used their full synthetic Mobil 1 oils in their engines, (Mobil 1 is perhaps the oldest full synthetic manufacturer ?), but have very recently shifted to making their own formulation, (probably a deal with one of the main oil manufacturers, rebranded with M Benz own label) and are now using semi synthetic in their cars.

Honestly...If the oldest car manufactuer in the world has changed to semi synthetics, just maybe the full syntheitc formulations arn't all they're cracked up to be, makes you think doesn't it ?